“Son, you must find your own way”
Is the menacing phrase
I fear, from the coils of my bed

Innocence is forced upon me
As I tremble in the darkness
For soon, I’ll depart from my youth

Down the trails, my forebearers strode
And extinguished themselves
In the ever- grieving mist

“Son, we won’t last forever”
Is the lingering refrain I scorn
With each year that dissolves

I’ve been still for too long
Now a new fray is calling,
Drawing me away
From the swirling white sheets

Where I selfishly wane
In the haze of a volatile hush

Leave a Reply

