I have had too much
I’m reduced to a wandering wretch
A staggering fool, chock-full of emotion

I have had too much
I’m reduced to a lost wavering rube
In the backwoods, consumed, in the rise of his broth

I have had too much
But this night is so criminal and young
And I’m far from the kind-hearted warmth,
From the tenderness of home

I have had too much
And it is all too fine with me
In this new age of burdens
Of faux and sensational fears

I have had too much of this world
So I heartily indulge
To dull and to silence its fury

Leave a Reply

