Everything I’ve ever known
Comes rushing forth
In a frightened jolt and a gasp

From a brush with delirium
In a carefree dive
Of a tranquil, afternoon doze

I lunge for the world
Scrambling for life
Desperately, quivering
In the tremoring of fear

As a nightmare retreats
Its crimson eyes fading
To reality’s proud toll
Or a dream
I blindly endure

 

william-wright1

If you enjoyed this piece, you can find more like it in my latest book, The Slums of Nightfall. It is available for purchase on Amazon and on my Author page

Leave a Reply

